Sao Paulo Brazil

Bom dia!

Another country to add to my list and one that I have wanted to visit for a long time.

When you arrive in another country you almost always see a sign that looks like this:

Sign to international arrival area at Sao Paulo airport

I think there is a universal experience that international travelers have – the walk for the airplane to customs is always long.  Maybe it is the fact that you have been on an airplane for a long time (in this case for 9.5 hours) but that walk through closed hallways (for control and security purposes) to customs seems to take forever.  And then you have to stand in line waiting to be checked through customs.  The wait really was not that long here in Sao Paulo but …

Sao Paulo itself is a bustling, modern city.  It  is the financial and economic center of Brazil.  It is a large city by any standards with about 20 million in population.  As you can see from the photo from my hotel, it looks like most other modern large cities.

Sao Paulo from the hotel

I admit to being comfortable and impressed with the city.  While the traffic can be as bad as New York or Washington DC, the roadways seem well constructed and laid out.  Public transportation is important for a city as large and densely populated as Sao Paulo.  In addition to major interstate-type highways, the city has public bus and subway service.

I am also impressed with the cleanliness of the city.  I admit that I have not gone walking through the poorer areas, but what you see from the streets leaves you with the impression that Sao Paulo is a clean city.

What really impresses me is the fact that there does not seem to be any serious air pollution.  For a city emerging from the “developing nation” status the lack of pollution surprises me.

And the people here are very courteous and pleasant.  The language is Portuguese.  And while I do not speak it, it was the language in my grandparents home.  As as result I picked up the knack of following conversations without really understanding the language itself.  So I do not find it difficult to understand or be understood which takes some of the stress out of being somewhere very different.

Ciaio for now.  More later.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Sao Paulo Brazil”

  1. Tom Markley Says:

    Hey Dr. Alves,
    Tom Markley, here (GA in the marketing department at Wilkes). You’re about to receive an abundance of comments from our MBA 526 class, as we’re using your blog as a social media example. Anyway, I can’t say that I’ve ever traveled outside of the country (short of Canada and the Bahamas, both of which mostly speak English anyway) so I’ve never experienced the traveling procedures you wrote about. Sao Paulo seems like a surprisingly advanced and comfortable environment, perhaps one day I’ll be able to see it. Have fun, and I’ll hold down the fort here till you get back.

  2. vincent Says:

    Hi, my name is Vincent and our prof had us check out your blog as part of my MBA 526 class. Like you I have seen many cities throughout the world as I spent 4 years in the US Navy. While there are many cities that seem dirty to me I do admit there are some really nice ones out there. I’ve never been to South America but one of the more impressive cities I’ve been to is Dubai UAE. Granted it was way to hot for my taste but it’s an impressive city to see. You should check it out.

  3. Kristen Baumes Says:

    Looks beautiful Dr. A! Would love to see more pictures when you have time to upload them. Hopefully you have some free time to explore, don’t work too hard! Safe travels.

  4. Tyler Mensch Says:

    Have you seen any infrastructure taking place in terms of the 2014 FIFA World Cup that will be taking place in Brazil?? Also do they have any unique marketing promotions taking place to help advertise the World Cup. Rumor in past has it that with lack of road infrastructure Brazil is struggling to prepare themselves for such a big intake like the World Cup.

    Tyler Mensch Wilkes MBA 13′
    Men’s Soccer Assistant Coach

    • alves70 Says:

      The highway infrastructure in the Sao Paulo and Rio areas are extensive and modern … even to the extent of having sensors and cameras that detect traffic violations (speeding) and automatically issue tickers! The Sao Paulo area also has a fairly extensive bus and subway system. Of course with a 20 million population there is more than a little traffic congestion during rush hour.

      Although I have not direct experience, I understand that the rural areas are not as well developed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

